World Heritage Convention

Människor under ett tak där man även ser en staty och pelare.
Photo: Susanne Hallmann.

UNESCO has negotiated a convention on the conservation of natural and cultural heritage, the World Heritage Convention.

The countries that have signed the convention agree to conserve the nature and culture of their countries, to implement protective legislation for conservation and so forth. The convention only addresses cultural expressions that are tangible, such as buildings, monuments and natural surroundings.

The World Heritage List is part of the convention. The list includes properties that are of “outstanding universal value” — also known as world heritage. There are a total of 1,007 world heritage properties.The World Heritage Convention was adopted by the UNESCO General Conference in 1972. Some 180 nations have signed the convention, which entails the obligation to protect world cultural and natural heritage. Sweden signed the convention in 1985.

The Swedish government agencies in charge

Swedish National Heritage Board website 

Swedish Environmental Protection Agency website

More on the convention

Full text of the convention at the UNESCO website

FAQ about world heritage at the UNESCO website